Omicron: new borders restrictions

On Saturday, the Australian Government announced new measures in response to a new COVID mutation. On the basis of medical advice provided, the National Security Committee has taken the necessary and temporary decision to pause the next step to safely reopen Australia until 15 December.

The temporary pause will ensure Australia can gather the information we need to better understand the Omicron variant.

Australia is temporarily closed:

  • Paused of border opening for temporary visa holders such as working, student, skilled and provisional family members.
  • The reopening to travellers from Japan and the Republic of Korea will also be paused.
  • There are no flights planned from 8 countries of the African continent (South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Malawi and Mozambique).
  • These restrictions also apply to people from green line (New Zealand and Singapore) who have been in any of the eight countries within the past 14 days.

Australia remains open:

  • Fully vaccinated Australian citizens, permanent residents and their immediate family can still return to Australia.
  • These people arriving from 8 African countries will need to go into immediate supervised quarantine for 14 days subject to jurisdictional arrangements.
  • Anyone who has already arrived in Australia and who has been in any of the eight countries within the past 14 days must immediately isolate themselves and get tested for COVID-19
  • Australia remains open for fully vaccinated green lane travellers.

BUUUUUT! This is not the time to give up, my friends!

The good news is parents are still included in the immediate family members group! That means they can enter Australia anytime (with full and eligible vaccination)!

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Using the site, you consent to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.